Women for Science

Search this Publication

Table of Contents

  • Previous
  •    Table of Contents
  • Next
  • Report Review

    This report was externally reviewed in draft form by 13 internationally renowned experts chosen for their diverse perspectives, technical knowledge, and geographical representation, in accordance with procedures approved by the IAC Board. The purpose of this independent review was to provide candid and critical comments that would help the IAC to produce a sound report that met the IAC standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review procedure and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. The IAC wishes to thank the following individuals for their review of this report:
     Shaidah ASMALL, Manager, Science, Gender and Disability Unit, Department of Science and Technology, Republic of South Africa
     Marcia C. BARBOSA,Associate Professor, Instituto de Fisica, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil
     Ledivina V. CARIÑO, Vice President, Philippines National Academy of Science and Technology; Philippines University Professor, University of the Philippines, Manila
    Yaye Kene GASSAMA-DIA, Minister of Science and Technology, Government of Senegal; Vice President, Senegal Academy of Sciences
    Farkhonda HASSAN, Professor, Department of Science, The American University in Cairo, Egypt
    Anne McLAREN, Research Associate, Wellcome CRC Institute, Cambridge, United Kingdom; former Foreign Secretary, Royal Society of London
    Sisai MPUCHANE, Professor and Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Botswana
    June NASRALLAH, Professor of Plant Molecular Genetics, Department of Plant Biology, Cornell University, USA
     Indira NATH, Former Foreign Secretary, Indian National Science Academy; Director, Blue Peter Research Centre —LEPRA Society, Hyderabad, India
    Perla D. SANTOS OCAMPO, Professor of Pediatrics, University of the Philippines, Manila; former president, Philippines National Academy of Science and Technology
    Rudy RABBINGE, Dean, Wageningen University Graduate School, The Netherlands; Member, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
    Katepalli R. SREENIVASAN, Director and Abdus Salam Honorary Professor, the International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy
    Keiko SUGIMOTO-SHIRASU, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, The John Innes Centre, Colney, United Kingdom

    Although the reviewers listed above provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions and recommendations, nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release.

    The review of this report was overseen by a review monitor:
    Shirley MALCOM, Head of the Directorate for Education and Human Resources Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, DC, USA

    Appointed by the IAC Co-Chairs, the review monitor was responsible for ascertaining that the independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with IAC procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. However, responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring Advisory Panel and the InterAcademy Council.

    • Previous
    •    Table of Contents
    • Next