Academia de Ciencias de la República Dominicana

The Academy of Sciences of the Dominican Republic was founded on December 20, 1974, and it was recognized and incorporated by a Presidential Decree on June 1975. The Senate Chamber of the Dominican Republic designated the Academy as advisor of the legislative. The Academy has also signed standing agreements with several universities, and its opinion is requested in legal courts in matters related to the environment and other areas in which an independent expert opinion would be necessary. Since the year 2000 the Academy is also a member of the National Council for Science and Technology.

Any professional or scientist may request to be analyzed to enter as a candidate for membership in the Academy. Once a candidate is proposed, the Academy analyzes the proposal for a minimum of three months and a maximum of three years in which the candidate must produce some scientific or scholarly achievement. The nomination of a member can be renewed if at that time the candidate for membership has not yet produced any significant scientific contribution. All candidates are evaluated by a commission of members of the Academy. Besides candidates received from elsewhere, this commission can also propose scientists to be considered as candidates for membership in the Academy.

Young scientists can be involved in activities of the Academy through one of the acting commissions of specialists that are established. At present, from a total membership of 173, only 24 are women, representing 13.1 %.

The Academy has a President and a Vice-president who are elected together with a Council of Directors each three years through an independent process. At the moment, the Academy has 10 specialized commissions integrated by scientists selected from within its Regular Members, as well as some task forces assembled from experts and in which membership in the Academy is not required.

The Academy publishes five journals or magazines: Revista Conciencia (Magazine Conscience), Revista Sofia (Magazine Sofia on Philosophy and Epimistology), Revista Sociales (Magazine Social Sciences), Revista de Ciencias Naturales (Magazine on Natural Sciences), and Revista Verdor (Magazine Verdor on Environmental Sciences).

The institution receives a monthly contribution of 1 million pesos (more or less 30 thousand US dollars) from the National Budget. Besides that, independent contributions for different activities are received from other donors, both national and from abroad.

The Academy grants three categories of awards: the Annual Scientific Journal Prize, the Civic Award of Merit, and special Scientific Prizes.

The Academy main activity is to support specific research together with universities, to organize rounds of lectures, to participate in national debates through the preparation and publication of documents elaborated by its different commissions, and also in the elaboration of proposals by its Commissions to solve different problems of national interest.

The Academy was one of the founding members of the Caribbean Scientific Union (CCC) and presently hosts its permanent headquarters. It is also a member of IANAS, ICSU and IAP.