# InterAcademy Council

# IAC/SCJ International Conference on the Impact of the Nuclear Plant Accident

Date: 10<sup>th</sup> October, 2012 Venue: Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

<u>Theme: What We Learned from the Nuclear Plant Accident and</u> the Roles of Science Academies in the World on Occasions of Severe Accidents

Language: English & Japanese < with simultaneous interpretation service>

**Programme** 

13:30 Opening Session

**Takashi Onishi** President, Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

Board Member, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

Robbert Dijkgraaf Co-Chair, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

13:40 Speech Session

Session Chairs

John P. Campbell Executive Director, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

Yoshiaki Kobayashi Vice-President for Contacts with Government and

Society, Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

13:45 Guest Speech

Yuan Tseh Lee President, International Council for Science (ICSU)

Human Society at the Crossroads

**Speeches** 

Kiyoshi Kurokawa Commission Chairman, Fukushima Nuclear

Accident Independent Investigation Commission of

National Diet of Japan (NAIIC);

Past President, Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

Independent Commission to Investigate Fukushima Nuclear Accident; What

It Means

Matthias Kleiner President, German Research Foundation (DFG)

Germany's Energy Transition - A Real Challenge!

Yican Wu Director, Institute of Nuclear Energy Safety

Technology (INEST), Chinese Academy of

Sciences (CAS)

China's Nuclear Safety Activities

Yoshiharu Yonekura President, National Institute of Radiological

Sciences (NIRS):

Council Member, Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

Medical management of radiation exposure from the nuclear accident:

Challenges and lessons

Alain Carpentier President, French Academy of Sciences

Board Member, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

Action Solidarité Japon

## 15:35 Panel Discussion

**Session Chairs** 

Robbert Dijkgraaf Co-Chair, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

Fumiko Kasuga Vice-President for International Activities, Science

Council of Japan (SCJ)

Short Speeches as for "Nuclear Policies in Overseas Countries"

**Daniel Ricquier** Vice-President, French Academy of Sciences

Yoon Suk Koh Member, The National Academy of Sciences

(NAS), Republic of Korea

Krishan Lal President, Indian National Science Academy

(INSA)

Board Member, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

Daya Reddy Advisor, Academy of Science Council of South

Africa (ASSAf);

South African Research Chair in Compitional

Mechanics, University of Cape Town

Roger John Cashmore Chairman, UK Atomic Energy Authority

John P. Boright Executive Director, International Affairs, U.S.

National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

#### General Discussions

### Discussants (other than Session Chairs):

Yuan Tseh Lee (ICSU)

Yican Wu (INEST / CAS / China)

Alain Carpentier (French Academy of Sciences / France)

Daniel Ricquier (French Academy of Sciences / France)

Matthias Kleiner(DFG / Germany)Krishan Lal(INSA / India)Kiyoshi Kurokawa(NAIIC / Japan)Yoshiharu Yonekura(NIRS / Japan)Yoon Suk Koh(NAS / Korea)

Daya Reddy (ASSAf / South Africa)

Roger John Cashmore (RS / UK)
John P. Boright (NAS / US)
John P. Campbell (IAC)
Takashi Onishi (SCJ)
Masato Takeichi (SCJ)
Yoshiaki Kobayashi (SCJ)

Wrap-up by Session Chairs

# 17:50 Closing Remarks

Masato Takeichi Vice President for Organizational Management,

Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

John P. Campbell Executive Director, InterAcademy Council (IAC)

# 18:00 Close