New IAP Executive Committee elected

Fri, March 04, 2016

During the IAP General Assembly that took place in Hermanus, South Africa, on 2 March 2016, Krishan Lal, was elected as co-chair representing developing countries Lal is former president of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) and currently president of the Asian Association of Science Societies and Academies (AASSA), IAP’s regional network for the Asia/Pacific region. Representing industrialized countries, Volker ter Meulen, Germany, was re-elected.

Among the regular Executive Committee members, the academies of Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Japan and South Africa were re-elected for second terms. They are joined by six newly elected academies representing three industrialized countries, two developing countries plus the continent-wide African Academy of Sciences.

The full IAP Executive Committee, 2016-2019, is therefore:


  • Volker ter Meulen (Germany)
  • Krishan Lal (India)

Members: Developing countries

  • African Academy of Sciences
  • Brazilian Academy of Sciences
  • Academia Chilena de Ciencias
  • Cuban Academy of Sciences
  • Academy of the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)

Members: Industrialized countries

  • Australian Academy of Science
  • Royal Society of Canada
  • Science Council of Japan
  • Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST)
  • Royal Society, UK