Academy / IAP Member

European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASA)

St.-Peter-Bezirk 10



The European Academy of Sciences and Arts is an international, non-governmental, and non-profit organization committed to promoting scientific and societal progress. Founded in Salzburg in 1990 by Felix Unger, Franz Kardinal König † and Nikolaus Lobkowicz, our members are leading scientists, artists, and business experts, who are dedicated to innovative research, interdisciplinary collaboration as well as the exchange and dissemination of knowledge. Among them are 32 Nobel laureates.

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts shall:

  • Identify and analyse European challenges
  • Provide advice to European institutions wherever the Academy has expertise
  • Develop a culture of collaboration and building bridges
  • Promote transnational / interdisciplinary research  and produce significant outputs
  • Strengthen the role of scientific communities and European scholarship
  • Foster cooperation between research and industry
  • Solve complex issues identified as priority for the wellbeing of all Europeans

Membership is basically open to scholars who – in a scientific or cultural institution or as an individual person – enjoy exceptional standing in society as a result of work performed, publications or for comparable reasons, and who are willing to support the objectives of the Academy actively and effectively.

Each member can nominate a scientist or scholar irrespective of nationality, gender, location or discipline. The election process includes a three-level evaluation system and an election of the Senate based on the recommendation of each level. Elected candidates are then invited to accept the honour of membership in the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

All ordinary members are assigned to one of the following classes that are chaired by a Dean:

I. Humanities

II. Medicine

III. Arts

IV. Natural Sciences

V. Social Sciences, Law and Economics

VI. Technical and Environmental Sciences

VII. World Religions

VIII. Corporate and Public Governance