Academy / IAP Member / 

Ethiopian Academy of Sciences (EAS)

Secretariat, Ethiopian Academy of Sciences, House no. 199, Woreda 9, Gulele Sub-City
P.O. Box 32228

Addis Abeba


The Ethiopian Academy of Sciences (EAS) is a merit-based society of prominent scholars who wish to promote the sciences and bring about development, prosperity and improved health for the people of Ethiopia. The Academy was established on 27 March 2010 by forty-nine Founding Fellows elected by the scientific community. The Academy aims to advance the development of all the sciences, including the natural sciences, mathematics, the health sciences, agricultural sciences, engineering, social sciences and humanities, fine arts and letters. The official launching ceremony of the Academy was held on 10 April 2010 in the presence of H.E. Girma Wolde Giorgis, President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.