Birgitta Henriques Normark


Birgitta Henriques Normark photo

Birgitta Henriques Normark has had a long and successful career as a researcher. She has been both Academic Vice President for Research and Chairman of the Committee for Research at Karolinska Institute. She is also an elected member of the Nobel assembly at Karolinska Institutet, awarding the Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine. In 2020 Birgitta Henriques Normark was awarded the Torsten Söderberg Academy Professorial Chair in Medicine. She has been a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 2018 and was elected President at the General Meeting on April 6th 2022. She will succeed the present President, Dan Larhammar, on July 1st.

The President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences represents the Academy and leads General Meetings and meetings of the Academy Board and the Presiding Committee. As President Birgitta Henriques Normark will also be the Chair of the International Committee. At the General meeting Ulf Ellervik, Professor of Bioorganic Chemistry, was also elected new Third Vice-President and Chair of the Education Committee, Lars Bergström, Professor of theoretical physics, was reelected First Vice-President and Chair of the Environment and Energy Committee. Since earlier, Magnus Berggren, Professor in Organic Electronics, is Second Vice-President and Chair of the Research Policy Committee. Hans Ellegren is the Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since January 1st 2022.