Academy / IAP Member / 

Indian National Science Academy (INSA)

Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg,
110 002
New Delhi,

The Indian National Science Academy (INSA), formerly known as National Institute of Sciences of India (NISI), was established on January7, 1935. This is the apex body of Indian scientists representing all branches of science. Its objectives cover promotion of science in India and harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare, safeguarding interest of Indian scientists, establishing formal linkages with international bodies, promoting international collaboration and giving opinion on national issues after debate and discussions.

Some of the landmarks in its seventy year old history are: (i) foundation as National Institute of Sciences of India on January 7, 1935 at Calcutta; located in the premises of Asiatic Society of Bengal; (ii) recognition as the premier scientific society of India representing all branches of science by the then Government of India, in October 1945; (iii) shifting headquarters to Delhi University, Delhi in May 1946; (iv) shifting to its own building at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi; foundation of the building laid by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru in April 1948; occupation in 1951; (v) designated as the adhering organization in India to the International Council for Science (ICSU) on behalf of Government of India in January 1968; (vi) assumed the present name, Indian National Science Academy, in February 1970.